CAV 2010: Call for Papers

CAV 2010 - 22nd International Conference on Computer Aided Verification

Edinburgh, UK, July 15-19, 2010

Important dates:

Aims and Scope

CAV 2010 is the 22nd in a series dedicated to the advancement of the theory and practice of computer-aided formal analysis methods for hardware and software systems. This year, CAV is part of the 5th International Federated Logic Conference (FLoC 2010), which includes CAV and seven other conferences/symposia: CSF, ICLP, IJCAR, ITP, LICS, RTA and SAT.

CAV considers it vital to continue its leadership in hardware verification, maintain its recent momentum in software verification, and consider new domains such as biological systems. The conference covers the spectrum from theoretical results to concrete applications, with an emphasis on practical verification tools and the algorithms and techniques that are needed for their implementation. The proceedings of the conference will be published in the Springer-Verlag Lecture Notes in Computer Science series. A selection of papers will be invited to a special issue of the International Journal on Formal Methods in System Design.

Topics of interest include:


There will be pre-conference workshops on July 14 and July 15, and post-conference workshops on July 20. Details on affiliated workshops will be posted on the conference website.

There will be tutorials on July 15 (first day of the conference).

Invited tutorial speakers

Robert Brayton, University of California, Berkeley, US
Kenneth Mcmillan, Cadence Berkeley Labs, US
Thomas Reps, University of Wisconsin-Madison, US
Andrey Rybalchenko, Max Planck Institute, Germany

Invited speakers

Somesh Jha, University of Wisconsin-Madison, US
Pasquale Malacaria, Queen Mary University, United Kingdom
Maged Michael, IBM, US

CAV Award

An annual award, called the CAV Award, has been established

For a specific fundamental contribution or a series of outstanding contributions to the field of Computer Aided Verification.

The award of $10,000 will be granted to an individual or a group of individuals chosen by the Award Committee from a list of nominations. The Award Committee may choose to make no award. The CAV Award shall be presented in an award ceremony at CAV and a citation will be published in a Journal of Record (currently, Formal Methods in System Design).

Call for Nominations for the CAV Award: Anyone can submit a nomination. The Award Committee can originate a nomination. Anyone, with the exception of members of the Award Committee, is eligible to receive the Award. A nomination must state clearly the contribution(s), explain why the contribution is fundamental or the series of contributions is outstanding, and be accompanied by supporting letters and other evidence of worthiness. Nominations should include a proposed citation (up to 25 words), a succinct (100-250 words) description of the contribution(s), and a detailed statement to justify the nomination. The cited contribution(s) must have been made not more recently than five years ago and not over twenty years ago. In addition, the contribution(s) should not yet have received recognition via a major award, such as the ACM Turing or Kanellakis Awards. (The nominee may have received such an award for other contributions.)

The 2010 CAV Award Committee consists of Orna Grumberg (chair), Moshe Vardi, Joseph Sifakis, and Rajeev Alur. For the CAV Award in 2010, please send nominations to the CAV Award Committee Chair:

Orna Grumberg : orna (at)

Nominations must be received by January 15, 2010.

Paper Submission

There are two categories of submissions: Papers can be submitted in PDF or PS format. Submission is done with EasyChair, and the submission site will open on Jan 4, 2010. Please follow guidelines on the conference website.

Papers exceeding the stated maximum length run the risk of rejection without review. The review process will include a feedback/rebuttal period where authors will have the option to respond to reviewer comments.

Program Chairs

Byron Cook, Microsoft Research, United Kingdom
Paul Jackson, School of Informatics, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Tayssir Touili, LIAFA, CNRS & University Paris Diderot, France

Program Committee:

Rajeev Alur, University of Pennsylvania, United States
Domagoj Babic, Synopsis, United States
Christel Baier, Technical University of Dresden, Germany
Roderick Bloem, Graz University of Technology, Austria
Ahmed Bouajjani, LIAFA, University of Paris 7 (Paris Diderot), France
Alessandro Cimatti, FBK-irst, Italy
Javier Esparza, Technische Universität München, Germany
Azadeh Farzan, University of Toronto, Canada
Martin Fränzle, Carl von Ossietzky Universität Oldenburg, Germany
Ganesh Gopalakrishnan, University of Utah, United States
Mike Gordon, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Orna Grumberg, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Israel
Ziyad Hanna, Jasper, United States
Holger Hermanns, Saarland University, Germany
Alan Hu, University of British Columbia, Canada
Kevin Jones, Green Plug, United States
Vineet Kahlon, NEC Laboratories, United States
Jean Krivine, PPS, France, Metropolitan
Daniel Kroening, Computing Laboratory, Oxford University, United Kingdom
Sava Krstic, Intel Corporation, United States
Marta Kwiatkowska, University of Oxford, United Kingdom
Oded Maler, Verimag, France
Kenneth McMillan, Cadence Berkeley Labs, United States
David Monniaux, CNRS / VERIMAG, France
Markus Müller-Olm, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Germany
Kedar Namjoshi, Bell Labs, United States
Doron Peled, Bar Ilan University, Israel
Shaz Qadeer, Microsoft, United States
Jean-Francois Raskin, Brussels University, Belgium
Natasha Sharygina, University of Lugano, Switzerland
Helmut Veith, University of Darmstadt, Germany
Kwangkeun Yi, Seoul National University, Korea, Republic of
Karen Yorav, IBM Haifa Research Lab, Israel
Greta Yorsh, IBM, United States

Steering Committee:

Edmund M. Clarke, Carnegie Mellon University, United States
Mike Gordon, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom
Robert P. Kurshan, Cadence, United States